21° 36°
Weather

DISCOVERING RUSCINO

Cultural
26July2024
At20Sep2024
Ruscino © Service photo - Ville de Perpignan
Free admission

Presentation

📍 Archaeological site - Oppidum of Ruscino

In ancient times, Perpignan's predecessor, Ruscino, stood between Perpignan and the sea.

A guided tour reveals the forum, daily life in 1st-century Roman times, the progress of excavations and the little-known work of heritage restorers with the new exhibition "Restored objects, preserved past".

Every Friday at 11:00 am - June 21 to September 20.

Guided tour presented by the Ville d'art et d'histoire department.
Free, places limited.

More info :

Opening hours & days
  • Every Friday from July 26, 2024 to September 20, 2024 from 11:00 to 12:30

DISCOVERING RUSCINO

Chemin de Château Roussillon 66000 PERPIGNAN
Book online

See other related services

VISIT-WORKSHOP "UN MÉDAILLON ANTIQUE AUTOUR DU COU" (AN ANTIQUE MEDALLION AROUND THE NECK)

Like a Roman potter, come and shape the clay into your own decorative medallion, inspired by ancient motifs found on the Ruscino site. Once the workshop is over, you'll be able to take your creation home with you! Workshop offered by the Ville d'art et d'histoire department. Every Thursday at 11:00 am - July 11 to August 29. Ages 6 and up, accompanied by an adult. Free, places limited.

Read more

EXHIBITION: "RESTORED OBJECTS, PRESERVED PAST

RESTORED OBJECTS, Preserved past or the second life of archaeological objects from Ruscino The moment they are freed from the sediment that has covered them for centuries, archaeological objects begin a second life: they lose their original function - crockery, weapon, ornament, tool - to become clues to the history, life and gestures of their owner or maker... These witnesses to the past, weakened by the conditions in which they were buried or discovered, deserve to be protected, restored or reproduced. Extending this second life as long as possible is the mission of the archaeologists and conservator-restorers working on the archaeological collections at the Ruscino site. Whether it's taking samples during excavation, molding, jigsawing painted plaster, removing dust, scraping, gluing, X-raying and reconstructing, or dismantling and reassembling large remains, the exhibition reveals the stages that objects go through after their discovery.

Read more

VISIT-WORKSHOP "UN MÉDAILLON ANTIQUE AUTOUR DU COU" (AN ANTIQUE MEDALLION AROUND THE NECK)

EXHIBITION: "RESTORED OBJECTS, PRESERVED PAST

Nearby

this may interest you

14° 27°
Weather

DÉCOUVERTE DE RUSCINO

Culturelle
21Juin2024
Au20Sep2024
Ruscino © Service photo - Ville de Perpignan
Entrée gratuite

Présentation

📍 Site archéologique - Oppidum de Ruscino

Entre Perpignan et la mer, s’élevait dans l’Antiquité une cité qui a précédé Perpignan : Ruscino.

Une visite-guidée vous dévoilera le forum, la vie quotidienne à l’époque romaine au Ier siècle, l’état d’avancement de fouilles et le travail méconnu des restaurateurs du patrimoine avec la nouvelle exposition « Objets restaurés, passé conservé ».

Tous les vendredis à 11h00 - Du 21 juin au 20 septembre.

Visite-guidée présentée par le service Ville d’art et d’histoire.
Gratuit, places limitées.

Plus d'infos :

Horaires & jours d'ouvertures
  • Chaque Vendredi du 21 juin 2024 au 20 septembre 2024 de 11:00 à 12:30

DÉCOUVERTE DE RUSCINO

Chemin de Château Roussillon 66000 PERPIGNAN
Réserver en ligne

Voir les autres prestations associées

VISITE-ATELIER “UN MÉDAILLON ANTIQUE AUTOUR DU COU”

Comme le potier romain, viens façonner l’argile pour donner forme à ton médaillon décoratif, inspiré de motifs antiques trouvés sur le site de Ruscino. Une fois l’atelier fini, tu pourras repartir avec ta création autour du cou ! Atelier proposé par le service Ville d’art et d’histoire. Tous les jeudis à 11h00 - Du 11 juillet au 29 août. À partir de 6 ans, présence d’un adulte accompagnateur obligatoire. Gratuit, places limitées.

En savoir plus

EXPOSITION : « OBJETS RESTAURÉS, PASSÉ CONSERVÉ »

OBJETS RESTAURÉS, Passé conservé ou la deuxième vie des objets archéologiques de Ruscino Au moment où ils sont dégagés du sédiment qui les recouvre depuis des siècles, les objets archéologiques commencent une deuxième vie : ils perdent leur fonction d’origine - vaisselle, arme, parure, outil - pour devenir des indices de l’histoire, de la vie, des gestes de leur propriétaire ou fabricant... Ces témoins du passé, fragilisés par leurs conditions d’enfouissement ou de découverte, méritent d’être protégés, restaurés, ou reproduits. Prolonger le plus longtemps possible cette seconde vie, c’est la mission des archéologues et des conservateurs-restaurateurs sur les collections archéologiques du site de Ruscino. Prélèvements pendant la fouille, moulage, puzzle d’enduis peints, démoussage, grattage, collages, radiographies et reconstitutions ou bien démontages et remontages de gros vestiges, l’exposition révèle les étapes par lesquelles passent les objets après leur découverte.

En savoir plus

VISITE-ATELIER “UN MÉDAILLON ANTIQUE AUTOUR DU COU”

EXPOSITION : « OBJETS RESTAURÉS, PASSÉ CONSERVÉ »

A proximité

ça peut vous intéresser